Personnel e.bulletin – Min. Wage Changes for 2015

Background image for Personnel e.bulletin

2015 Minimum Wage Law Changes

Prepared for the PHCC Educational Foundation by TPO, Inc.

This bulletin highlights important employment law changes, with enough information to help you get an idea of what you need to have on your radar this year.

Minimum Wage

Minimum wage is a perennial issue that has taken on a higher profile amid the slowly recovering economy and growing public debate about income inequality. States continue to take action while the federal minimum wage remains at $7.25 – a bill to increase the minimum wage to $10.10 an hour was blocked in the Senate last April.

Twenty-four states (compared to thirteen last year) have announced minimum wage increases that will take effect in 2015. They are:

Effective December 31, 2014

  • New York: $8.75 per hour – increasing to $9.00 effective December 31, 2015.
  • West Virginia: $8.00 per hour – increasing to $8.75 effective December 31, 2015.

Effective January 1, 2015

1.   Alaska: $8.75 per hour – increasing to $9.75 per hour on January 1, 2016.
2.   Arizona: $8.05 per hour.
3.   Arkansas: $7.50 per hour – increasing to $8.00 per hour on January 1, 2016 and $8.50 on January 1, 2017.
4.   Colorado: $8.23 per hour.
5.   Connecticut: $9.15 per hour – increasing to $9.60 per hour on January 1, 2016 and $10.10 on January 1, 2017.
6.   Florida: $8.05 per hour.
7.   Hawaii: $7.75 per hour – increasing to $8.50 per hour on January 1, 2016, $9.25 on January 1, 2017, and $10.10 on January 1, 2018.
8.   Maryland: $8.00 per hour – increasing to  $8.25 per hour on July 1, 2015, $8.75 per hour on July 1, 2016, $9.25 on July 1, 2017, and $10.10 on July 1, 2018.
9.   Massachusetts: $9.00 per hour – increasing to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2016 and $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
10.  Missouri:
$7.65 per hour.
11
Montana: $8.05 per hour.
12.  Nebraska:
$8.00 per hour – increasing to $9.00 per hour on January 1, 2016.
13.  New Jersey:
$8.38 per hour.
14.  Ohio:
$8.10 per hour for businesses with annual gross receipts in excess of $297,000 per year.
15.  Oregon:
$9.25 per hour.
16.  Rhode Island:
$9.00 per hour.
17.  South Dakota:
$8.50 per hour.
18.  Vermont:
$9.15 per hour – increasing to $9.60 per hour on January 1, 2016, $10.00 on January 1, 2017, and $10.50 on January 1, 2018.
19.  Washington:
$9.47 per hour.
Effective June 1, 2015

  • Delaware: $8.25 per hour.


Effective July 1, 2015

  • Washington D.C: $10.50 per hour – increasing to $11.50 per hour effective July 1, 2016.


Effective August 1, 2015

  • Minnesota: $9.00 per hour for large employers; $7.25 per hour for small employers – increasing to $9.50 per hour effective August 1, 2016 for large employers and to $7.75 for small employers.

 

Keep in mind that some counties and cities set minimum wages – be sure to stay current.
_____________________________________________________________________________

This content was developed for the PHCC Educational Foundation by TPO, Inc. (www.tpo-inc.com). Please consult your HR professional or attorney for further advice, as laws may differ in each state. Laws continue to evolve; the information presented is as of November 2014. Any omission or inclusion of incorrect data is unintentional. Please note this article is not intended to provide legal advice or to substitute for supervisor employment law training.

The PHCC Educational Foundation, a partnership of contractors, manufacturers and wholesalers was founded in 1987 to serve the plumbing-heating-cooling industry by preparing contractors and their employees to meet the challenges of a constantly changing marketplace. If you found this article helpful, please consider supporting the Foundation by making a contribution at http://www.phccfoundation.org.

Read Issue — PDF format, 165KB